The Hawthorne Police Department allows Citizens to visit with subjects currently in custody at the Hawthorne Police Dept.
Visitation hours are everyday between 2 pm – 3 pm.
In order to visit with a person in custody the visitor must possess either a valid State issued picture identification card, a valid passport, or any other type of valid government picture identification. Visitors cannot be on active parole, probation, nor have any warrants for their arrest.
- Subjects in custody are not entitled to a visitor until they have been in custody for at least one calendar day.
- Subjects in custody are only entitled to one visitor per calendar day.
- The length of the visitations is dependent on the number of visitations that will be conducted.
- The maximum time allotted for an individual visit is 15 minutes.
Call (310) 349-2700 if you need to contact our Jail.
Pay to Stay Program
We offer a court commitment “Pay to Stay” program which offers individuals an option to fulfill their jail time at our facility rather than the County jail.
There are many restrictions and strict guidelines in order to qualify for this program. Rather than list them all here, we ask that you contact our Jail Supervisor at: (310) 349-2700.
Registering for Narcotics/Sex/Arson OFFENSES
Hours to register: Monday through Friday from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
BEFORE YOU COME TO REGISTER:
- Make sure you have your registration form (SS 8047 or SS 8048) from your parole or probation officer with a correct Hawthorne address. Narcotic registrants will not be registered without this form.
- Make sure you have proper identification and proof that you reside in the City of Hawthorne.
- Acceptable proof of residency is a California I.D., a DMV printout, and a rental agreement, all with the correct Hawthorne address on it.
- The registration process could take up to 2 hours or more. Please allow sufficient time to complete the process.
For Sex and Arson Registrants, if your address information states that you are a transient you are required to register every 30 days. Sex and arson registrants must register annually 5 days before to 5 days after your birthday. If you do not register within this time you are in violation and could be arrested.
Sex and Arson Registrants are required to meet with a Detective to complete registration.
Call (310) 349-2700 to schedule your appointment.
In response to the sexual assault and murder of seven-year old Megan Kanka by a convicted sex offender in 1994, Federal legislation was passed in 1996 requiring states to disseminate information regarding sex offenders to the public.
As a result of recent State legislation, California Penal Code Section 290.46 was enacted. This section provides specific information about certain sex offenders to be made available to the public via a website maintained by the Department of Justice.
The information will be updated on an ongoing basis and will provide the public with the tools needed to protect themselves and their families. The California Department of Justice divides sexual offenders into three categories. Those categories are High Risk, Serious and Other. Only High Risk and Serious offenders are listed on the Internet site. This was a decision made by the legislators.
The Megan's Law Website is provided through the Office of the Attorney General.